Mount Rushmore National Memorial Keystone, South Dakota



## **United States Presidents**

Gutzon Borglum, the sculptor of Mount Rushmore, chose the four presidents carved on the mountain to represent the first 150 years of our nation's history.

**George Washington**, the first president on the mountain, led the early colonists in the American Revolutionary War to win independence from Great Britain. He was the father of the new country and laid the foundation of American democracy. Because of his importance, Washington is the most prominent figure on the mountain. Washington was born in 1732 and died in 1799.



**Thomas Jefferson**, the second president on the mountain, was the author of the Declaration of Independence, a document which inspires democracies around the world. He also purchased the Louisiana Territory from France in 1803 which doubled the size of our country, adding all or part of fifteen present-day states. This was the beginning of the great western expansion of America. Jefferson was born in 1743 and died in 1826.



**Theodore Roosevelt**, the third president represented on the mountain, provided leadership when America experienced rapid economic growth as it entered the 20th Century. He was instrumental in negotiating the construction of the Panama Canal, linking the east and the west. Roosevelt was known as the "trust buster" for his work to end large corporate monopolies and ensure the rights of the common working man. He owned a ranch in the Badlands of North Dakota and, as a lover of the outdoors, did much to preserve our nation's natural beauty and resources. Roosevelt was born in 1858 and died in 1919.



**Abraham Lincoln**, the fourth president on the mountain, held the nation together during its greatest trial, the Civil War. Lincoln believed his most sacred duty was the preservation of the union. It was his firm conviction that slavery must be abolished. Lincoln Borglum, the sculptor's son once stated, "Many observers have remarked that the compassionate face of Lincoln is the most skillfully carved of the four faces on Mount Rushmore." Abraham Lincoln was born in 1809 and died in 1865.



## The following is a list of the presidents, years in office and party represented:

1.	George Washington	1787 - 1797	
2.	John Adams	1797 - 1801	Federalist
3.	Thomas Jefferson	1801 - 1809	Democratic - Republican
4.	James Madison	1809 - 1817	Democratic - Republican
5.	James Monroe	1817 - 1825	Democratic - Republican
6.	John Quincy Adams	1825 - 1829	Democratic - Republican
7.	Andrew Jackson	1829 - 1837	Democrat
8.	Martin Van Buren	1837 - 1841	Democrat
9.	William H. Harrison	1841	Whig
10.	John Tyler	1841 - 1845	Whig
11.	James K. Polk	1845 - 1849	Democrat
12.	Zachary Taylor	1849 - 1850	Whig
13.	Millard Fillmore	1850 - 1853	Whig
14.	Franklin Pierce	1853 - 1857	Democrat

15. James Buchanan	1857 - 1861	Democrat
16. Abraham Lincoln	1861 - 1865	Republican
17. Andrew Johnson	1865 - 1869	Democrat
18. Ulysses S. Grant	1869 - 1877	Republican
19. Rutherford B. Hayes	1877 - 1881	Republican
20. James A. Garfield	1881	Republican
21. Chester A. Arthur	1881 - 1885	Republican
22. Grover Cleveland	1885 - 1889	Democrat
23. Benjamin Harrison	1889 - 1893	Republican
24. Grover Cleveland	1893 - 1897	Democrat
25. William McKinley	1897 - 1901	Republican
26. Theodore Roosevelt	1901 - 1909	Republican
27. William H. Taft	1909 - 1913	Republican
28. Woodrow Wilson	1913 - 1921	Democrat
29. Warren G. Harding	1921 - 1923	Republican
30. Calvin Coolidge	1923 - 1929	Republican
31. Herbert C. Hoover	1929 - 1933	Republican
32. Franklin D. Roosevelt	1933 - 1945	Democrat
33. Harry S. Truman	1945 - 1953	Democrat
34. Dwight D. Eisenhower	1953 - 1961	Republican
35. John F. Kennedy	1961 - 1963	Democrat
36. Lyndon B. Johnson	1963 - 1969	Democrat
37. Richard M. Nixon	1969 - 1974	Republican
38. Gerald R. Ford	1974 - 1977	Republican
39. Jimmy Carter	1977 - 1981	Democrat
40. Ronald Reagan	1981 - 1989	Republican
41. George H.W. Bush	1989 - 1993	Republican
42. William J. Clinton	1993 - 2001	Democrat
43. George W. Bush	2001 - 2009	Republican
44. Barack H. Obama	2009 -	Democrat